Quality, Strykers stay perfect in beach soccer openers

[June 8, 2016 - Harmon, Guam] Quality Distributors FC outscored opponents 17-4 in two matches to claim the top of the 2016 Land Shark Beach Soccer League standings after opening week games at the Guam Football Association National Training Center beach soccer court Sunday.

In the opening match of the season, Quality defeated defending champions Crushers FC 8-1 with a hat trick from Jan-Willem Staman and two goals each from Joshua Mendiola and Paul Long. RC Salas also scored in the win. Noah Duenas scored the Crushers’ lone goal.

In a rematch of last season’s third-place match, Quality avenged its loss to Doosan FC, winning 9-3. Quality’s Jan-Willem Staman led all scorers with four goals and teammate RC Salas scored twice. Takefumi Inoue, Joshua Mendiola, and Paul Long also scored for Quality. Cameron Lunod scored twice for Doosan and teammate Cyle Tass also scored.


Crushers win 2015 Land Shark Beach Soccer crown

[August 4, 2015 - Harmon, Guam] The Crushers FC swept all top awards at the conclusion of the 2015 Land Shark Beach Soccer League, rallying past first-ranked team and last year’s champions, Strykers FC, 5-3, to claim the championship trophy, adding to its Fair Play and Golden Boot awards Sunday at the Guam Football Association National Training Center beach soccer court.

The Crushers struck first in the final match with a shot from Christian Schweizer four minutes into the match, but the Strykers’ Bill Kerr, Scott Spindel, and older brother Shawn, quickly tacked on a trio of goals by the end of the 15-minute period to take a commanding 3-1 lead.

After both teams played a scoreless second period, the Crushers took advantage of the Strykers’ defensive lapse in the final period, outscoring their opponents 4-0.


Strykers move to 1st in beach soccer ahead of playoffs

[July 22, 2015 - Harmon, Guam] The Strykers FC are in prime position to successfully defend its Land Shark Beach Soccer League title, ascending to the first-ranked position in league playoffs set to begin Sunday at 2 p.m. at the Guam Football Association National Training Center beach soccer court.

The Strykers trailed the Crushers FC for the entire season, but two Strykers wins in Week 3, coupled with a Crushers FC loss in the same week, rearranged league standings moving into the playoffs.

The Strykers, hot on a four-game winning streak, first defeated Doosan FC 7-4 with hat tricks from Shawn Spindel and Bill Kerr and an additional goal from Spindel’s younger brother Scott. James Mendiola, Aaron Castro, Arnold Torres, Jr. and Allan Angoco scored for Doosan.


Strykers nab 2014 beach soccer championship title

The Paintco Strykers pose with the Land Shark Beach Soccer League championship trophy after defeating 2013 champions Quality Distributors 7-6 in the final Sunday at the Guam Football Association National Training Center beach soccer court.

In the photo are, kneeling from left to right, Dave Bush, Ross Awa, and Francis Chargualaf. Standing, from left to right, are Gen Fudo, Ryota Nault, Yaw Antwi-Agyei, Shawn Spindel (holding the league's Golden Boot trophy), William Kerr, and Hiro Asoshina.

Gen Fudo and Shawn Spindel each scored a hat trick in the win. Hiro Asoshina scored the Strykers' other goal. James Bush led Quality with two goals and teammates Takefumi Inoue, Scott Spindel, and Shane Casey, Jr. also scored. Quality's other goal came on a Strykers own goal. In the consolation match, the Crushers FC Orange claimed third place in the league with a victory via forfeit over the Crushers FC White.


Beach Soccer playoff rankings set

Defending champion and No. 1 Quality Distributors will face off against No. 4 Crushers FC White in the first playoff match of the Land Shark Beach Soccer League, followed by No. 2 Paintco Strykers and No. 3 Crushers FC Orange, Sunday, at the Guam Football Association National Training Center beach soccer court.

The Crushers FC White managed to nab the fourth and final spot in the playoffs, starting off with a 16-12 victory over last season’s runner up Doosan FC. Despite an 11-8 loss to Crushers FC Orange later in the day, the Crushers FC White sent off Doosan by maintaining a greater goal differential than the 2013 finalists through to the final whistle of the regular season.

The Crushers FC White’s Ajay Pothen led the team with 10 goals in two matches, followed by Alfred Agahan and Joshua Pangelinan each netting five goals for the day. Against Doosan, the Crushers FC White’s Julio Gonzales scored twice and teammate Sisank Kotwal once. Camden Aguon scored the Crushers FC White’s other goal against Crushers FC Orange.


GFA Proud member of: FIFA AFC AFC